You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Instructors
  3. Staff
  4. Graduate Students
  5. Professors in the Graduate Program
  6. Our Emeriti
Faculty
Anooshahr, Ali
  • Associate Professor
aanooshahr@ucdavis.edu
3220 Social Science & Humanities
W 1-3 and by appointment
Biagioli, Mario
  • Distinguished Professor
mbiagioli@ucdavis.edu
SSH 1246 C (CSIS/STS Offices)
Wednesday 11-1 or by appointment
  • http://innovation.ucdavis.edu/people/biagioli
  • Biale, David
    • Emanuel Ringelblum Distinguished Professor of Jewish History
    dbiale@ucdavis.edu
    (510) 649-9607
    3238 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesdays 9-11
    Bossler, Beverly
    • Professor
    bjbossler@ucdavis.edu
    3229 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Wednesdays, 3:00-5:00 pm and by appointment
  • http://newbooksnetwork.com/eastasianstudies/2013/07/11/beverly-bossler-courtesans-concubines-and-the-cult-of-female-fidelity-harvard-yenching-institute-2013/
  • Campbell, Ian
    • Assistant Professor
    iwcampbell@ucdavis.edu
    4207 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Friday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm. Additional hours by appointment.
    Davis, Diana
    • Associate Professor
    geovet@ucdavis.edu
    Office: 3225 SSH
    ~~ Thurs. 1:00-3:00. Please sign up on my door ahead of time if you want to be sure of a spot. ~~
  • http://www.geovet.org
  • Decker, Corrie crdecker@ucdavis.edu
    3227 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tues/Thurs 11am-12pm or by appointment
    Dickinson, Edward
    • Professor
    erdickinson@ucdavis.edu
    3224 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 1:00-4:00
    El Shakry, Omnia
    • Associate Professor
    oselshakry@ucdavis.edu
    4209 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesday & Thursday 11:00am-12:00pm or by appointment
    Harris, A. Katie
    • Associate Professor
    akharris@ucdavis.edu
    3233 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Thursdays, 12:00-2:00 pm and by appointment.
    Hartigan-O'Connor, Ellen
    • Associate Professor
    eoconnor@ucdavis.edu
    3204 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 1-3 and by appointment
    Javers, Quinn
    • Assistant Professor
    qdjavers@ucdavis.edu
    4203 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Tuesday 10-12, or by appointment
    Kelman, Ari
    • Professor
    akelman@ucdavis.edu
    3201 Social Sciences & Humanities
  • http://arikelman.org/
  • Kim, Kyu Hyun
    • Associate Professor
    kyukim@ucdavis.edu
    4213 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesday 1:00-3:00 pm or by appointment
    Landau, Norma
    • Professor
    nblandau@ucdavis.edu
    4210 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Monday 3:15 - 5:15
    Materson, Lisa
    • Associate Professor
    lgmaterson@ucdavis.edu
    3223 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Monday 10:00 am-12:00 pm
    McKee, Sally
    • Professor
    • Chair, Graduate Program Committee
    • Europe
    sjmckee@ucdavis.edu
    4208 Social Sciences & Humanities Bldg.
    I'm in my office Mondays 1-3. But feel free to drop in.
  • http://www.sallymckee.com
  • Miller, Susan
    • Professor
    sgmiller@ucdavis.edu
    3219 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Olmsted, Kathy
    • Professor and Department Chair
    ksolmsted@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-7764
    3207 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On sabbatical spring 2014
    Oropeza, Lorena
    • Associate Professor
    lboropeza@ucdavis.edu
    3237 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On Leave
    Rauchway, Eric
    • Professor
    earauchway@ucdavis.edu
    3202 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 10-12 and by appointment
    Resendez, Andres
    • Professor
    aresendez@ucdavis.edu
    3209 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Wednesdays 12:00-2:00 and by appointment
  • http://resendez.ucdavis.edu
  • Saler, Michael
    • Professor
    mtsaler@ucdavis.edu
    3203 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 10:00 - 12:00
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUtErxgz7Mo
  • Schlotterbeck, Marian
    • Assistant Professor
    mschlotterbeck@ucdavis.edu
    3205 Social Science and Humanities Building
    Monday 1:30-3:30 p.m. & by appointment
    Sen, Sudipta
    • Professor
    ssen@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 908-0627
    3228 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 3-6 PM
    Smolenski, John
    • Associate Professor
    jsmolenski@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 302-5385
    3231 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesday 10-12, or by appointment
    Spyridakis, Stylianos
    • Professor
    svspyridakis@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-2104
    4205 Social Sciences & Humanities
    MWF 11:00-12:00
    Stolzenberg, Daniel
    • Associate Professor of History
    • Member of STS
    • Member of GGSR
    dstolz@ucdavis.edu
    3235 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On leave
    Stuart, Kathy
    • Associate Professor
    kestuart@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 341-3338
    3226 Social Sciences & Humanities
    T 9:30-10:30, R 10:30-11:30
    Taylor, Alan
    • Distinguished Professor
    • Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in History
    astaylor@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4093
    4206 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On Leave
    Tezcan, Baki
    • Associate Professor
    • Director, Middle East/South Asia Studies Program
    btezcan@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 715-0155; Fax: (530) 752-9769
    3222 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tsu, Cecilia
    • Assistant Professor
    cmtsu@ucdavis.edu
    3216 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Wednesday, 10 am-12 pm and by appointment
    Walker, Charles
    • Professor, Director of the Hemispheric Institute on the Americas
    cfwalker@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-3046
    1279 Social Sciences & Humanities (ground floor, near Sociology)
    Tuesdays 12-2 and by appt.
  • http://charlesfwalker.com
  • Walker, Clarence
    • Distinguished Professor
    cewalker@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0779
    3236 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 1:30-4:30
    Warren, Louis
    • Professor
    lswarren@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-1633
    4204 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On Leave
    Instructors
    Brooks, Shelley
    • Lecturer, Department of History
    • Program Coordinator, California History - Social Science Project
    sbmccabe@ucdavis.edu
    1256 Social Science and Humanities Building
    T 10:30-12:30
    Draper, Melvyn
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Modern British and European History
    mldraper@ucdavis.edu
    #3211
    Tuesday & Thursday 5-6 pm
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/MLDraper
  • Günther, Frieder
    • Lecturer, Department of History
    gfguenther@ucdavis.edu
    3206 Social Sciences & Humanities
    TR 11:00-12:00
    Hickman, David
    • Lecturer, Department of History
    dchickman@ucdavis.edu
    3211 Social Science and Humanities Building
    F 10:00-12:00
    Montanez-Sanabria, Elizabeth
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Latin American History
    emontanez@ucdavis.edu
    SS&H 3217
    Monday & Wednesday 10.30-11.30 am & by appointment
    Staff
    Applegate, Angie
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    afapplegate@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4343
    2216 SS&H
    Fischer, Monica
    • Budget Officer
    mlfischer@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-1631
    Gibson, Anya
    • Undergraduate Coordinator & Advisor
    asgibson@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0742
    2216 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Hale, Rachel
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    rhale@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9241
    2216 SSH
    Harrison, Taylor
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    taharrison@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0777
    2216 SS&H
    Lewis, Jessica jnslewis@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-8048
    Lyon, Debbie
    • Academic Personnel
    dllyon@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9825
    Miner, Kathy
    • Chief Administrative Officer
    keminer@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0760
    Odenweller, Lori laodenweller@ucdavis.edu
    Parpana, Katherine
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    kjparpana@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0741
    2216 SS&H
    Support, Technical ithelp@dss.ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-8800
  • http://it.dss.ucdavis.edu
  • Thomas, Lauren lhthomas@ucdavis.edu
    Woods, Grace
    • Graduate Coordinator
    gawoods@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9141
    2208 SSH
    Graduate Students
    Abrams, Lawrence
    • PhD. Student
    • British Empire
    lcabrams@ucdavis.edu
    Alexander, Carrie cahartley@ucdavis.edu
    Alexander, Tina tcrandolph@ucdavis.edu
    Alyagon, Elad ealyagon@ucdavis.edu
    Amin, Neel nnamin@ucdavis.edu
    Arnfeld, Rebecca rjarnfeld@ucdavis.edu
    Balloffet, Lily
    • PhD Candidate, Latin American History; Middle East History Minor
    lgballoffet@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/LilyBalloffet
  • Blake, Jessica
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early American History
    jrblake@ucdavis.edu
    Bowles, Lindsay
    • -Ph.D. Student, U.S. History
    • -Specialization: Political Institutions of the Early Republic
    • -Minor: Early Modern European History, emphasis on Great Britain
    lmbowles@ucdavis.edu
    Browning, Elizabeth Grennan
    • Ph.D. Student, U.S. Environmental and Cultural History
    eagrennan@ucdavis.edu
    Casey, Matthew
    • PhD Candidate
    • Major Field: Latin America
    • Designated Emphasis: Native American Studies
    mpcasey@ucdavis.edu
    Chieh, Jia Lin
    • Ph.D Candidate, United States History
    • Minor: World History
    jgchieh@ucdavis.edu
    Clark, Seth scclark@ucdavis.edu
    Clement, Justin
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. History
    jbclement@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/JustinClement
  • Clendening, Logan
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Modern European History
    • Minor: World History
    lwclendening@ucdavis.edu
    Collin, Nathalie
    • PhD Student
    • Major Field: Latin American History
    • Minor Field: Cross-Cultural Women's and gender History
    nmesteban@ucdavis.edu
    Collins, Michael
    • Ph.D. candidate, British Imperial history
    mdcollins@ucdavis.edu
    3221 Social Science and Humanities
    Tuesdays and Thursdays, 1:00-2:00 PM and by appointment
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/MichaelCollins
  • Cox, Stephen sdcox@ucdavis.edu
    Dries, Mark
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Latin American History
    • Designated Emphasis in Native American Studies
    • Minor Field: Early Modern Europe
    mpdries@ucdavis.edu
    Egli, Rebecca
    • Ph.D. Student, U.S. Environmental History and the American West
    raegli@ucdavis.edu
    Farnia, Nina nfarnia@ucdavis.edu
    Fowler, Jessica
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Colonial Latin American and Early Modern European History
    jjfowler@ucdavis.edu
    Gallman, Nancy
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early American History
    • Minor Field: Latin American History
    nogallman@ucdavis.edu
    Gismondi, Melissa
    • PhD candidate, Early American History
    mjgismondi@ucdavis.edu
  • https://virginia.academia.edu/MelissaGismondi
  • Harris, Steve
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Modern European History
    sharris@ucdavis.edu
    By appointment only
    Harwell, Elliott eharwell@ucdavis.edu
    Higgins, Andrew
    • Ph.D. Candidate
    • U.S. History, World History
    ashiggins@ucdavis.edu
    Hodges, Lily
    • PhD Student, United States History.
    • Minor Field: Latin America History.
    lhodges@ucdavis.edu
    Hopkins, Bethany
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. History
    bjhopkins@ucdavis.edu
  • http://bethanyjhopkins.com/
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/BethanyHopkins
  • Jarquin, Griselda gvjarquin@ucdavis.edu
    Jenne, Jeremiah jgjenne@ucdavis.edu
    Johnson, Cameron camjohnso@ucdavis.edu
    Johnson, Diana
    • PhD Candidate, US History
    • Specializations: Race in the 20th Century
    • Minor Field: Cross-Cultural Women's and Gender History
    dekjohnson@ucdavis.edu
    Judge, Rajbir
    • Ph.D. Candidate, South Asian History
    • Minors: World History and Middle Eastern History
    rsjudge@ucdavis.edu
    Kean, Kelly
    • PhD Student, Early American History
    kckean@ucdavis.edu
    Kipp, Katharine kekipp@ucdavis.edu
    Knoblauch, Kaleb kknoblau@ucdavis.edu
    Knudten, Cori
    • PhD student, U.S. Environmental and Women's/Gender History
    cknudten@ucdavis.edu
  • https://www.linkedin.com/in/cknudten
  • Layton, Brandon
    • PhD Candidate, Early America, Borderlands
    bklayton@ucdavis.edu
    Lee, Jacob
    • Ph.D. Candidate
    • Major Field: United States
    • Minor Field: Native American Studies
    jaflee@ucdavis.edu
    Lin, Shan
    • Ph.D candidate, Chinese history
    • Minor: Japanese History
    zoelin@ucdavis.edu
    Marino, Anne
    • PhD student
    • Major field: Modern Jewish History
    • Minor fields: Middle East, World History
    aemarino@ucdavis.edu
    Marsh, Sean
    • Ph.D. Candidate in Chinese History
    • Minor field: Japanese History
    stmarsh@ucdavis.edu
    Mayhew, Jessica jrmayhew@ucdavis.edu
    Medel-Toro, Juan jmedeltoro@ucdavis.edu
    Mendoza, Mary E.
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. Environmental History
    mmendoz@ucdavis.edu
    Mikecz, Jeremy
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Latin American History
    • Specializations: Environmental History, Spatial History / Historical GIS
    jmmikecz@ucdavis.edu
    Mortimer, Loren Michael lmmortimer@ucdavis.edu
    Naim, Hakeem hnaim@ucdavis.edu
    O'Donnell, Thomas
    • Ph.D. Candidate
    twodonnell@ucdavis.edu
    Ordaz, Jessica jordaz@ucdavis.edu
    Palma, Patricia ppalma@ucdavis.edu
    Perrone, Nickolas nmperrone@ucdavis.edu
    By Appointment only
  • http://environmentsandsocieties.ucdavis.edu/colloquiumschedule/
  • Ragas, Jose jragas@ucdavis.edu
    Reeder, Tyson
    • Ph.D. Candidate Early American History/Atlantic History
    tfreeder@ucdavis.edu
    Reeves, Rachel
    • Ph.D. Candidate, British History
    rlreeves@ucdavis.edu
  • http://www.history.ac.uk/about/rachel-reeves
  • Richardson, Laurel lrichardson@ucdavis.edu
    Richardson, Nicole ncrichardson@ucdavis.edu
    Rosales, Marco marosales@ucdavis.edu
    San Martin, William wsanmartin@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/WilliamSanMartin/
  • http://www.chileucd.com/william-san-martin.html/
  • https://twitter.com/wssanmartin/
  • Scavo, Jordan jmscavo@ucdavis.edu
    Sen, Muhammed mssen@ucdavis.edu
    Sewell, John jssewell@ucdavis.edu
    Silva, Pablo
    • ٠PhD Student
    • ٠Latin America, Colonial Mexico
    • ٠Minor: U.S. History
    psilvajr@ucdavis.edu
    Silver, Stephen sjsilver@ucdavis.edu
    Sparks, Hillary
    • Ph.D. Candidate, 20th Century United States
    • Social, Political and Intellectual History
    hmsparks@ucdavis.edu
    @hm_sparks
    Monday 2:00pm-3:00pm Wednesday 2:00pm-4:00pm
    Stenner, David
    • PhD Candidate, Middle East and North African History
    dstenner@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/DavidStenner
  • http://www.davidstenner.com
  • Sullivan, Casey jcsullivan@ucdavis.edu
    Tavolacci, Laura
    • Ph.D candidate, South Asian History
    • Minor: World History
    ltavolacci@ucdavis.edu
    Tripp, Ryan rwtripp@ucdavis.edu
    Zandler, John jrzandler@ucdavis.edu
    Zelnik, Eran
    • Ph.D Candidate, Early U.S and Antebellum History
    eazelnik@ucdavis.edu
    244 SS&H
    Monday, Thursday, 11-12 Or by appointment
    Professors in the Graduate Program
    Albu, Emily emalbu@ucdavis.edu
    de la Pena, Carolyn ctdelapena@ucdavis.edu
    Halperin, Mark mhalperin@ucdavis.edu
    Our Emeriti
    Bauer, Arnold ajbauer@ucdavis.edu
    Borgen, Robert rborgen@ucdavis.edu
    Brantley, Cynthia clbrantley@ucdavis.edu
    Brody, David brodyiir@uclink4.berkeley.edu
    Cadden, Joan jcadden@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4343
    2216 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Calhoun, Daniel
    Crummey, Robert rocrummey@ucdavis.edu
    Fleischer, Manfred mpfleischer@ucdavis.edu
    Hagen, William wwhagen@ucdavis.edu
    Holloway, Thomas thholloway@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/TomHolloway/About
  • Jacobson, David
    Mann, Susan
    • Professor of History, Emerita
    slmann@ucdavis.edu
    Margadant, Ted twmargadant@ucdavis.edu
    Metcalf, Barbara bdmetcalf@ucdavis.edu
    Price, Don dcprice@ucdavis.edu
    Rosen, Ruth rerosen@ucdavis.edu
    Schwab, Richard
    Willis, F.Roy