You are here: Home / People

People

  1. Faculty
  2. Instructors
  3. Staff
  4. Graduate Students
  5. Professors in the Graduate Program
  6. Our Emeriti
Faculty
Anooshahr, Ali
  • Associate Professor
aanooshahr@ucdavis.edu
(530) 754-1631
3220 Social Science & Humanities
W 1-3 and by appointment
Biagioli, Mario
  • Distinguished Professor
mbiagioli@ucdavis.edu
SSH 1246 C (CSIS/STS Offices)
Wednesday 11-1 or by appointment
  • http://innovation.ucdavis.edu/people/biagioli
  • Biale, David
    • Emanuel Ringelblum Distinguished Professor of Jewish History
    dbiale@ucdavis.edu
    (510) 754-1640
    3238 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Mondays and Tuesdays 11-12
    Bossler, Beverly
    • Professor
    bjbossler@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-3654
    3229 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesdays 3:15-5:15 and by appointment
  • http://newbooksnetwork.com/eastasianstudies/2013/07/11/beverly-bossler-courtesans-concubines-and-the-cult-of-female-fidelity-harvard-yenching-institute-2013/
  • Campbell, Ian
    • Assistant Professor
    iwcampbell@ucdavis.edu
    4207 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Monday 10:00 am - 12:00 pm
    Davis, Diana
    • Associate Professor & Vice-Chair
    geovet@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0802
    Office: 3225 SSH
    ~~ Generally Mondays 11-12 and 1:30-2:30, by sign up sheet on my door. Please check here for possible changes.
  • http://www.geovet.org
  • Decker, Corrie
    • Associate Professor
    • Director of Cross-Cultural Women and gender History (CCWgH) research cluster, 2014-2016
    crdecker@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-1639
    3227 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Mondays 1:30-3:30pm, and by appointment
    Dickinson, Edward
    • Professor
    erdickinson@ucdavis.edu
    3224 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 2:00 to 4:00
    Downs, Gregory
    • Associate Professor
    gdowns@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-1633
    Social Sciences 3211
    Mondays 11:10-noon Wednesday 11:10-noon Or by appointment
  • http://www.mappingoccupation.org
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/GregoryDowns/Papers
  • El Shakry, Omnia
    • Associate Professor
    oselshakry@ucdavis.edu
    4209 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tues/Thurs 10.30-11.30 a.m.
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/OmniaElShakry
  • Harris, A. Katie
    • Associate Professor
    akharris@ucdavis.edu
    3233 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesdays and Thursdays, 10:00 am - 11:00 am and by appointment
    Hartigan-O'Connor, Ellen
    • Associate Professor
    eoconnor@ucdavis.edu
    3204 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On leave.
    Javers, Quinn
    • Assistant Professor
    qdjavers@ucdavis.edu
    4203 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Tuesday 11 - 12, Wednesday 1-2, or by appointment
    Jean-Baptiste, Rachel
    • Associate Professor
    rjeanbaptiste@ucdavis.edu
    Social Sciences and Humanitiies 3206
    Tuesday and Thursdays 11AM-12PM
    Kelman, Ari
    • Professor
    akelman@ucdavis.edu
    3201 Social Sciences & Humanities
  • http://arikelman.org/
  • Kim, Kyu Hyun
    • Associate Professor
    kyukim@ucdavis.edu
    4213 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesday 1:00-3:00 pm or by appointment
    Leroy, Justin
    Materson, Lisa
    • Associate Professor
    lgmaterson@ucdavis.edu
    3223 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Mon and Wed 4-5
    McKee, Sally
    • Professor
    • Chair, Graduate Program Committee
    • Europe
    sjmckee@ucdavis.edu
    4208 Social Sciences & Humanities Bldg.
    I'm in my office Mondays 1-3. But feel free to drop in.
  • http://www.sallymckee.com
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/SallyMcKee
  • Miller, Susan
    • Professor
    sgmiller@ucdavis.edu
    3219 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Wednesdays 12:00pm - 2:00pm
    Olmsted, Kathy
    • Professor and Department Chair
    ksolmsted@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-7764
    3201 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Mondays 10-12
    Oropeza, Lorena
    • Associate Professor
    lboropeza@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-1635
    3237 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tue/Thurs. 12:30pm-1:30pm
    Rauchway, Eric
    • Professor
    earauchway@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-1646
    3202 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 10-12 or by appointment
    Resendez, Andres
    • Professor
    aresendez@ucdavis.edu
    3209 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On sabbatical leave 2015-2016
  • http://resendez.ucdavis.edu
  • Saler, Michael
    • Professor
    mtsaler@ucdavis.edu
    3203 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 10:00 - 12:00
  • http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bUtErxgz7Mo
  • Schlotterbeck, Marian
    • Assistant Professor
    mschlotterbeck@ucdavis.edu
    3205 Social Science and Humanities Building
    Monday & Tuesday 3-4
  • http://derechoslatinamerica.com/
  • Sen, Sudipta
    • Professor
    ssen@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 908-0627
    3228 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 1-3 PM
    Smolenski, John
    • Associate Professor
    jsmolenski@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 302-5385
    3231 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesday 9-11, or by appointment
    Spyridakis, Stylianos
    • Professor
    svspyridakis@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-2104
    4205 Social Sciences & Humanities
    MWF 12:30-1:30 or by apt.
    Stolzenberg, Daniel
    • Associate Professor of History
    • Member of STS
    • Member of GGSR
    dstolz@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-1626
    3235 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Wed. 9:45-10:45 Fri. 12:45-1:45
    Stuart, Kathy
    • Associate Professor
    kestuart@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 341-3338
    3226 Social Sciences & Humanities
    M 9-10, 5-6,and by appointment.
    Tezcan, Baki
    • Associate Professor
    btezcan@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9981; Fax: (530) 752-9769
    3222 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Tuesdays & Thursdays 11-12, and by appointment
    Tsu, Cecilia
    • Associate Professor
    cmtsu@ucdavis.edu
    3221 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Thursday, 12:30-2:30 p.m., and by appointment
    Walker, Charles
    • Professor, Director of the Hemispheric Institute on the Americas
    • MacArthur Foundation Endowed Chair in International Human Rights
    cfwalker@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 754-9453
    1279 Social Sciences & Humanities (ground floor, near Sociology)
    Thursdays 3-5 and by appt.
  • http://charlesfwalker.com
  • Warren, Louis
    • Professor
    lswarren@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-1633
    4204 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Monday, 2-4 and by appointment
    Zientek, Adam
    • Assistant Professor
    azientek@ucdavis.edu
    4206 SS&H
    Monday 2-4 PM Wednesday 2-4 PM By appointment
    Instructors
    Collins, Michael mdcollins@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/MichaelCollins
  • DeSouza, Wendy wdesouza@ucdavis.edu
    Mondays 10-12
    Hopkins, Bethany bjhopkins@ucdavis.edu
    Lauhon, Jordan
    • Lecturer, Department of History
    • Instructor, UC Davis Study Abroad
    jlauhon@ucdavis.edu
    3217 SSH Building
    Mondays and Wednesdays, 3:30-5
  • http://studyabroad.ucdavis.edu/programs/summerabroad/peru.html
  • Staff
    Fischer, Monica
    • Budget Officer
    mlfischer@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-1631
    Friedrich, Leanna
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    lfriedrich@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0777
    2216 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Gibson, Anya
    • Undergraduate Programs Supervisor & Advisor
    asgibson@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0742
    2216 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Gloege, Teresa
    • Administrative Assistant
    tagloege@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9241
    2216 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Hensley, Judge
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    jhensley@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9142
    2216 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Isaac, Amanda
    • Academic Personnel
    alisaac@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9825
    2211 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Lemus, Michael
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    malemusdiaz@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4343
    2216 SS&H
    Lutman, Susan selutman@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-5247
    1112 Social Science & Hummanities Bldg
    M-F 8:00am - 4:30pm
    Miner, Kathy
    • Chief Administrative Officer
    keminer@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0760
    Odenweller, Lori
    • Event Coordinator
    laodenweller@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0526
    1110 Social Sciences and Humanities
    M-F 8:25am-2:25pm
    Parpana, Katherine
    • Undergraduate Academic Advisor
    kjparpana@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0741
    2216 SS&H
    Support, Technical ithelp@dss.ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-8800
  • http://it.dss.ucdavis.edu
  • Thomas, Lauren lhthomas@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-2070
    1272 Social Sciences and Humanities Building
    Whitaker, Dawn
    Woods, Grace
    • Graduate Coordinator
    gawoods@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-9141
    2208 SSH
    Graduate Students
    Abrams, Lawrence
    • PhD. Student
    • British Empire
    lcabrams@ucdavis.edu
    Alcalá Dyer, Gerardo galdyer@ucdavis.edu
  • https://www.behance.net/alcala_dyeb442
  • Alexander, Carrie
    • Ph.D. Student, U.S. Environmental History
    csalexander@ucdavis.edu
  • http://environmentsandsocieties.ucdavis.edu
  • Alexander, Tina tcrandolph@ucdavis.edu
    Alyagon, Elad ealyagon@ucdavis.edu
    Amin, Neel nnamin@ucdavis.edu
    Arnfeld, Rebecca rjarnfeld@ucdavis.edu
    Aroni, Renzo rsaroni@ucdavis.edu
    Blake, Jessica
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early American History
    jrblake@ucdavis.edu
  • http://www.mceas.org/blake.html
  • Browning, Elizabeth Grennan
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. Environmental and Cultural History
    • Minor: World History
    eagrennan@ucdavis.edu
    Casey, Matthew
    • PhD Candidate
    • Major Field: Latin America
    • Designated Emphasis: Native American Studies
    mpcasey@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/MattCasey
  • Chervinsky, Lindsay
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. History
    • Specialization: Political Institutions of the Early Republic
    • Minor: Early Modern European History, emphasis on Great Britain
    lmbowles@ucdavis.edu
    Chieh, Jia Lin
    • Ph.D Candidate, United States History
    • Minor: World History
    jgchieh@ucdavis.edu
    Clark, Seth scclark@ucdavis.edu
    Clement, Justin
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S. History
    jbclement@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/JustinClement
  • Clendening, Logan
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Modern European History
    • Minor: World History
    lwclendening@ucdavis.edu
    Cortes, Katharine kekipp@ucdavis.edu
    Cox, Stephen sdcox@ucdavis.edu
    Dries, Mark
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Latin American History
    • Designated Emphasis in Native American Studies
    • Minor Field: Early Modern Europe
    mpdries@ucdavis.edu
    Egli, Rebecca
    • Ph.D. Student, U.S. Environmental History and the American West
    raegli@ucdavis.edu
    Farnia, Nina
    • Ph.D. Student, Middle East History
    • Specialization: Law and Empire
    • Minor Field: U.S. History
    nfarnia@ucdavis.edu
    Gallagher, Sean
    • Ph.D Student
    • American Revolution, Slavery
    smgallagher@ucdavis.edu
    Gallman, Nancy
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early American History
    • Minor Field: Latin American History
    nogallman@ucdavis.edu
    Garcia, Nick
    • Ph.D. Student, Colonial U.S. History & Politics
    niagarcia@ucdavis.edu
    SS&H 245
    Gilkerson, Sarah
    • UC Davis History 10C Graduate Teaching Assistant
    • Montana State University Student Archivist
    • Smithsonian Museum of Natural History Research Assistant
    sagilkerson@ucdavis.edu
    244 Social Science
    Tuesday 1:00-4:00pm
  • http://sarahgilkerson.cgpublisher.com/
  • https://brettalexthomas.academia.edu/SarahGilkerson
  • Haggerty, Michael
    • PhD. Student, United States History
    mghaggerty@ucdavis.edu
    245 Social Science and Humanities
    Harwell, Elliott eharwell@ucdavis.edu
    Hernandez, Viridiana vihernandez@ucdavis.edu
    Higgins, Andrew
    • Ph.D. Candidate
    • U.S. History, World History
    ashiggins@ucdavis.edu
    Hodges, Lily
    • Ph.D. Student, United States History,
    • 20th Century
    lhodges@ucdavis.edu
    Jarquin, Griselda gvjarquin@ucdavis.edu
    Jenne, Jeremiah jgjenne@ucdavis.edu
    Johnson, Cameron
    • PhD Student, Latin American History
    • Minor Field, Environmental History
    camjohnso@ucdavis.edu
    Johnson, Diana
    • PhD Candidate, US History
    • Specializations: Race and Activism in the 20th Century
    • Minor Field: Cross-Cultural Women's and Gender History
    dekjohnson@ucdavis.edu
    Judge, Rajbir
    • Ph.D. Candidate, South Asian History
    • Minors: World History and Middle Eastern History
    rsjudge@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/RajbirJudge
  • Kean, Kelly
    • PhD Student, Early American History
    kckean@ucdavis.edu
    Knoblauch, Kaleb kknoblau@ucdavis.edu
    Knudten, Cori
    • PhD student, U.S. Environmental and Women's/Gender History
    cknudten@ucdavis.edu
  • https://www.linkedin.com/in/cknudten
  • Lahman-Goldstein, Jason
    • PhD Student, History of Science, Medicine and Technology
    jdlahman@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/JasonLahman
  • Lara, Genesis genlara@ucdavis.edu
    Layton, Brandon
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early American History, Borderlands
    • Minor Field: World History
    bklayton@ucdavis.edu
    Leigh, Devin
    • PhD Student
    • Major: United States
    • Minor: Latin America
    • Focus: South Florida
    dtleigh@ucdavis.edu
    Lin, Shan
    • Ph.D candidate, Chinese history
    • Minor: Japanese History
    zoelin@ucdavis.edu
    Marsh, Sean
    • Ph.D. Candidate in Chinese History
    • Minor field: Japanese History
    stmarsh@ucdavis.edu
    Medel-Toro, Juan jmedeltoro@ucdavis.edu
    Mikecz, Jeremy
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Latin American History
    • Specializations: Environmental History, Spatial History / Historical GIS
    jmmikecz@ucdavis.edu
    Mortimer, Loren Michael lmmortimer@ucdavis.edu
    Naim, Hakeem hnaim@ucdavis.edu
    Novoa, Miguel
    • Ph.D. Student
    • Field: Latin America
    • Focus: South America, Peru
    • Minor: United States
    • Interests: Citizenship & Culture • Inter-American Affairs • State Formation
    manovoa@ucdavis.edu
  • https://www.linkedin.com/in/miguelnovoa
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/MiguelAlbertoNovoa
  • O'Donnell, Thomas
    • Ph.D. Candidate, U.S., working women
    • minor: Cross Cultural Women's & gender History
    twodonnell@ucdavis.edu
    Ong, James jamong@ucdavis.edu
    Ordaz, Jessica
    • Ph.D. Student
    • Major Field: U.S. History
    • Minor Field: Latin American History
    jordaz@ucdavis.edu
  • https://twitter.com/OrdazYesika
  • Palma, Patricia
    • Ph.D. Candidate
    • Major Field: Latin America History
    • Minor Field: Memory Studies
    • Areas of Interest:
    • Public Health, Global Health, Alternative Medicine, Cultural History of Medicine and Peruvian History
    ppalma@ucdavis.edu
  • https://ucdavis.academia.edu/PatriciaPalmaMaturana
  • Peinado, Melanie mapeinado@ucdavis.edu
    Perez, Anne
    • PhD candidate
    • Major field: Modern Jewish History
    • Minor fields: Middle East, World History
    aemarino@ucdavis.edu
    Perrone, Nickolas nmperrone@ucdavis.edu
  • http://www.nickperrone.com/
  • Reeder, Tyson
    • Early American History/Atlantic History
    tfreeder@ucdavis.edu
    Reeves, Rachel
    • Ph.D. Candidate, British History
    rlreeves@ucdavis.edu
  • http://www.history.ac.uk/about/rachel-reeves
  • Richardson, Laurel lrichardson@ucdavis.edu
    Roberts, Stacy snroberts@ucdavis.edu
    Rosales, Marco marosales@ucdavis.edu
    Sacmali, Muhammet mhsacmali@ucdavis.edu
    San Martin, William
    • PhD Candidate, Latin American History
    • Minor in World History
    wsanmartin@ucdavis.edu
  • http://www.williamsanmartin.com
  • https://twitter.com/wssanmartin/
  • Sen, Muhammed mssen@ucdavis.edu
    Serpa, Ashley
    • PhD Student, Modern U.S. History
    aserpafl@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/AshleySerpa
  • Sewell, John jssewell@ucdavis.edu
    Sharp, Ken kesharp@ucdavis.edu
    Silva, Pablo
    • ٠PhD Student
    • ٠Latin America, Colonial Mexico
    • ٠Minor: U.S. History
    psilvajr@ucdavis.edu
    Silver, Stephen sjsilver@ucdavis.edu
    Sparks, Hillary
    • Ph.D. Candidate, 20th Century United States
    • Social, Political and Intellectual History
    hmsparks@ucdavis.edu
    @hm_sparks
    Monday 2:00pm-3:00pm Wednesday 2:00pm-4:00pm
    Sullivan, Casey jcsullivan@ucdavis.edu
    Tavolacci, Laura
    • Ph.D candidate, South Asian History
    • Minor: World History
    ltavolacci@ucdavis.edu
    Thomas, Joshua jjhthomas@ucdavis.edu
    Virgen, Joel jvirgen@ucdavis.edu
    Zandler, John
    • Ph.D. Candidate, Early Modern European History
    jrzandler@ucdavis.edu
    Zelnik, Eran
    • Ph.D Candidate, Early U.S and Antebellum History.
    • Regular contributor for the S-USIH blog (http://s-usih.org/blog).
    eazelnik@ucdavis.edu
  • http://s-usih.org/author/eran_zelnik
  • Professors in the Graduate Program
    Albu, Emily emalbu@ucdavis.edu
    de la Pena, Carolyn ctdelapena@ucdavis.edu
    Halperin, Mark mhalperin@ucdavis.edu
    Our Emeriti
    Borgen, Robert rborgen@ucdavis.edu
    Brantley, Cynthia clbrantley@ucdavis.edu
    Brody, David brodyiir@uclink4.berkeley.edu
    Cadden, Joan jcadden@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4343
    2216 Social Sciences and Humanities
    Calhoun, Daniel
    Crummey, Robert rocrummey@ucdavis.edu
    Hagen, William wwhagen@ucdavis.edu
    Holloway, Thomas thholloway@ucdavis.edu
  • http://ucdavis.academia.edu/TomHolloway/About
  • Jacobson, David
    Landau, Norma
    • Professor
    nblandau@ucdavis.edu
    4210 Social Sciences & Humanities
    Monday 3:15 - 5:15
    Mann, Susan
    • Professor of History, Emerita
    slmann@ucdavis.edu
    Margadant, Ted twmargadant@ucdavis.edu
    Metcalf, Barbara bdmetcalf@ucdavis.edu
    Price, Don dcprice@ucdavis.edu
    Rosen, Ruth rerosen@ucdavis.edu
    Schwab, Richard
    Taylor, Alan
    • Distinguished Professor
    • Winner of the Pulitzer Prize in History
    astaylor@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-4093
    4206 Social Sciences & Humanities
    On Leave
    Walker, Clarence
    • Distinguished Professor
    cewalker@ucdavis.edu
    (530) 752-0779
    3236 Social Sciences & Humanities
    W 1:30-4:30
    Willis, F.Roy